Our school lies in the heart of the village of Drom. Situated 5km from the towns of Templemore and Borrisoleigh, we are surrounded by beautiful views of the Tipperary countryside including a breathtaking view of the Devil’s Bit mountain.

The school itself was opened in 1958 by Canon O’Connor on a site kindly donated by Pat Maher. Started by our first principal Pat Cleary and teacher Mrs Friend, our mixed school has been proudly teaching generations of children from local communities ever since. We are currently a five teacher school with three mainstream class teachers and two special education teachers looking after children from 5 to 12 years of age.

The aim of Drom National School is to deliver high quality education to all our pupils according to their abilities and their personal goals. We hope that each child will have an enjoyable and productive time in this school.

Our Ethos

  • Our school’s aspirations and goals are to help the pupils to develop academically, emotionally, spiritually, socially and physically.
  • Education is not just about academic excellence and learning skills. We aim to help the pupils to be of their best selves, to help them to learn about themselves, to help them to be more confident.
  • We want to help them to become competent, mature, self-motivated adults.
  • Our school’s attitudes, beliefs and values are based on traditional Christian values of honesty, justice, tolerance, respect and self-control. As teachers, we strive to uphold these values in our attitudes and in our dealings with pupils and parents.
  • Our traditions will be based on our country’s traditions. We aim to give the pupils a love and respect for all things Irish i.e. our language, our games, our music, our dance, our poetry and literature, our flag and our National Anthem.

Our Staff

  • Principal: Ms. Amadean Moore-Walsh
  • Deputy Principal: Ms. Margaret Butler
  • Junior & Senior Infants: Ms. Amadean Moore-Walsh
  • First, Second, & Third Class: Ms. Máire Kirwan
  • Fourth, Fifth & Sixth Class: Ms. Margaret Butler
  • Special Education Teacher: Ms. Charlotte Scanlan

Our Board of Management

The members of the Board of Management 2023 – 2027 are:

  • Chairperson: Rev. Fr. Martin Murphy
  • Patron Nominee: Mary Fogarty
  • Principal: Amadean Moore-Walsh
  • Teacher Nominee: Charlotte Scanlan
  • Parent Nominee: Attracta Cahill
  • Parent Nominee: Tom Kennedy
  • Community Nominee: Eddie Moran
  • Community Nominee: Jerry Kennedy